Garza County, Texas

Garza County is in Northwest Texas, partly on the Llano Estacado and partly in the breaks of the lower plains. It is bordered on the north by Crosby County, on the west by Lynn County, on the east by Kent County, and on the south by Borden and Scurry counties. Its center point is forty-two miles southeast of Lubbock.

Cities, Towns & Communities

Close City (Ragtown) | Graham | Hackberry | Justiceburg (LeForest, LeForrest) | Pleasant Valley | Post (Post City) – county seat | Southland | Verbena


Garza County. While formal boundaries were given to Garza County in 1876, it remained without county government for more than thirty years, and was organized in 1907. Its development has been greatly promoted since the completion of the Texico-Coleman cut-off of the Santa Fe System in 1911. This railroad crosses the county from southeast to northwest. 

County Histories

Wagon Wheels: A History of Garza County, 1973, edited by Charles Didway, County Historical Survey Committee.

Images of America: Garza County, 2010, by Linda Puckett, Garza County Historical Museum.


Garza county has had two courthouses. Garza County’s first courthouse, a two-story plain stone building designed by M. S. Hall, was completed in July 1908 and was designed to be a temporary courthouse for the county until a permanent courthouse could be built. The temporary courthouse served the county for 15 years until the current courthouse, a three-story red brick and concrete structurewas opened in 1923.


Post, TX 33° 11′ 27.3408″ N, 101° 22′ 41.4984″ W

See map: Google Maps, Yahoo! Maps, MapQuest

What is our community saying about Garza County, Texas