Tarrant County, Texas

Tarrant County is in north central Texas surrounded by Denton County on the north, Dallas County on the east, Ellis County on the southeast, Johnson County on the south, Parker County on the west and Wise County on the northwest. Fort Worth, the county seat, is 40 miles west of Dallas.

Cities, Towns and Communities

Arlington | Azle (partly in Parker County) | Bedford | Benbrook (Miranda) | Birdville | Blue Mound | Burleson (mostly in Johnson County) Colleyville | Crowley | Dalworthington Gardens | Edgecliff Village | Euless | Everman | Flower Mound (mostly in Denton County) | Forest Hill | Fort Worth – county seat | Grapevine (Dunnville) | Haltom City | Handley | Haslet | Hurst | Johnson’s Station | Keller | Kennedale | Lake Worth | Lakeside | Mansfield(partly in Johnson and Ellis Counties) | Newark (mostly in Wise County) | Niles City | North Richland Hills | Oak Grove | Pantego | Pelican Bay | Rendon | Richland Hills | River Oaks | Saginaw (Dido) | Sansom Park | Southlake| Trophy Club (mostly in Denton County) | Watauga | Westlake | Westover Hills | Westworth Village | White Settlement


Tarrant County, with Fort Worth as its chief city, was created by act of the Legislature December 20, 1849, about a year after the establishment of the military garrison at Fort Worth. This act contains some directions as to the location of the county seat, “the place receiving the highest number of votes shall be the place established as the county seat of said county of Tarrant and shall be called Birdville.” The county was organized in August, 1850, and the county offices located at Birdville, an old settlement now marked by a few weather-beaten buildings that hardly tell the story of its ambitious struggles to become a metropolis. The rivalry between Fort Worth and Birdville over the county seat was an important chapter in the early history of the county, The act of the Legislature August 26, 1856, ordered an election to be held in the following November to decide among the proposed sites for the county seat, and at that election Fort Worth won by a bare plurality.


Fort Worth, TX 32° 43′ 31.4724″ N, 97° 19′ 15.06″ W

See map: Google Maps, Yahoo! Maps, MapQuest