Rusk County, Texas

Rusk County is located in northeast Texas surrounded by Gregg County to the north, Harrison County to the northeast, Panola County to the east, Shelby County to the southeast, Nacogdoches County to the south, Cherokee County to the southwest and Smith County to the northwest. Henderson, the county seat, is about 140 miles southeast of Dallas.

Cities, Towns and Communities

Concord | Easton (mostly in Gregg County) | Elderville (partly in Gregg County) | Harmony Hill | Henderson – county seat | Joinerville | Kilgore (mostly in Gregg County) | Laird Hill | Laneville | Leverett’s Chapel | Minden | Mount Enterprise | New London| Overton (partly in Smith County) | Price | Reklaw (mostly in Cherokee County) | Selman City | Tatum (partly in Panola County) | Turnertown


This is an interior eastern county, crossing the line of the Pacific railroad : the soil is good, and produces all the grains : much cotton is also raised in this county.

Henderson is the principal town, or city ; for it is a place of much size and note, having many fine brick buildings, school-houses, churches, and other public edifices.

Rusk county, at last general election, gave 2000 votes. Distance from Galveston to Henderson is 175 miles. – Braman’s information about Texas, 1858


Henderson, TX 32° 9′ 11.5776″ N, 94° 47′ 57.768″ W

See map: Google Maps, Yahoo! Maps, MapQuest