Rains County, Texas

Rains County is in northeast Texas on the upper reaches of the Sabine River. It is bordered by Hunt, Hopkins, Wood, and Van Zandt counties.

Cities, Towns & Communities

Alba | Dougherty | East Tawakoni | Emory (Springville) – county seat | Flats | Point


Rains County’s first courthouse was a log building. It was used until a two-room courthouse was built in 1871; this second courthouse burned in 1879. The log building was again used as a temporary courthouse until two-story building could be built in 1884. The 1884 courthouse burned in 1908. Rains County’s current courthouse, shown at right from a 1940s postcard, is the Fourth Courthouse. It was built in 1908.


Emory, TX 32° 52′ 28.4376″ N, 95° 45′ 55.8648″ W

See map: Google MapsYahoo! MapsMapQuest