Maverick County

Maverick County, located in the northwestern section of the Rio Grande plain region in southwest Texas, is bordered on the north by Kinney County, on the east by Zavala County, and on the south by Webb County. The county is triangular in shape and contains 1,287 square miles.. Eagle Pass, the county seat and most populous community, is in southwestern Maverick County 425 miles southeast of El Paso, 200 miles southwest of Austin, and 275 miles northwest of Brownsville.

Cities, Towns & Communities

Chula Vista | Eagle Pass – county seat | El India | Eldson Road | Elm Creek | Fabrica | Kickapoo Reservation | Las Quintas Fronterizas | Normandy | Olmos | Quemado | Radar Base | Rosita | Rosita North | Rosita South | Seco Mines | Siesta Acres


Maverick County was carved from Kinney County and named for Samuel A. Maverick in 1856. The estimated population of the county in 1860 was 726. Although the county was established in 1856 it was not until September 4, 1871, that it was officially organized. New ranches were established by Mike Wipff, Frank Lehmann, Patrick Thomson, and John Towns following the organization of the county. Telegraph communication reached Eagle Pass in November of 1875 with the completion of a military line between Fort Clark and Fort Duncan. The historic Maverick County Courthouse was completed by pioneer builder William Hausser on April 4, 1885, at a cost of $20,489. The courthouse, site of the celebrated Dick Duncan murder trial in 1889, exhibits a modified Gothic architecture with high windows and an overall Spanish fortress appearance. The population of the county was 1,951 in 1870 and 2,967 in 1880. 


Eagle Pass, TX 28° 42′ 32.9148″ N, 100° 29′ 58.2756″ W

See map: Google MapsYahoo! MapsMapQuest