Kenedy County, Texas

Kenedy County on U.S. Highway 77 south of Corpus Christi in the Rio Grande Plain region of South Texas, is bordered by Kleberg County on the north, the Gulf of Mexico on the east, Willacy County on the south, and Hidalgo and Brooks counties on the west.

Cities, Towns & Communities

Armstrong | Norias | Rudolph | Sarita - county seat | Turcotte


The Kenedy County Courthouse is a brick, three-story Classic Revival Style building with jail, designed by Henry Truman Phelps. The structure, began in 1917, was originally built as the Willacy County Courthouse but became the Kenedy County Courthouse when Kenedy County was created out of Willacy County in 1921.


Kenedy County was organized and created 2 April 1921 when Willacy, Hidalgo, and Cameron counties reorganized.

Kenedy County, Created April 2, 1921 out of Cameron, Willacy and Hidalgo counties. Named for Mifflin Kenedy 1818-1895, sent to Texas in 1846 on United States Army supply boats, commercial navigator of the Rio Grande 1848-1860. Sarita is the county seat.  Historical Marker Text, 1939.  Marker Location: from Sarita, take US 77 N about 3 miles.


Sarita, TX 27° 13' 18.1632" N, 97° 47' 20.9832" W

See map: Google MapsYahoo! MapsMapQuest

What is our community saying about Kenedy County, Texas