Jasper County, Texas

Jasper County is located in Southeast Texas, bordered on the north by San Augustine and Sabine counties, on the east by Newton County, on the south by Orange County, and on the west by Hardin and Tyler counties. The county seat, Jasper, is 115 miles northeast of Houston and twenty-three miles west of the Sabine River and Louisiana.

Cities, Towns & Communities

Beech Grove | Brookeland | Browndell | Buna | Cairo Springs | Call | Curtis | Erin | Evadale | Gist | Gumslough | Harrisburg | Holly Springs | Jasper Kirbyville | Magnolia Springs | Mount Union | Roganville | Sam Rayburn | Zeirath


Jasper County was established when the Convention of 1836 converted old municipalities into counties, but it was not until 1837 that an act was passed defining the county boundaries. The town of Jasper was named county seat by the county commissioners in 1836 and grew around a log courthouse and jail built on the main square. In 1846 the original Jasper County was split into two parts; the eastern portion became Newton County. In 1847 Andrew Smyth built a sawmill near Bevilport, using the swift current of Indian Creek for power. After a fire destroyed the Jasper County Courthouse and all county records in 1849, a new two-story structure was quickly constructed.


Jasper, TX 30° 55′ 12.72″ N, 93° 59′ 47.6736″ W

See map: Google MapsYahoo! MapsMapQuest

What is our community saying about Jasper County, Texas