Calhoun County, Texas

Calhoun County is located on the Gulf Coast between Houston and Corpus Christi. Approximately one-fourth of the county’s 540-sq. mi. area is under water. Calhoun County is bordered by Victoria and Jackson counties on the north, Matagorda Island and the Gulf on the south, Refugio County on the west, and Matagorda County on the east.

Cities, Towns & Communities

Indianola | Long Mott | Matagorda Island | Port Comfort | Port Lavaca – county seat | Port O’Connor | Seadriff


Port Lavaca, TX 28° 36′ 53.9892″ N, 96° 37′ 33.9204″ W

See map: Google Maps, Yahoo! Maps, MapQuest

What is our community saying about Calhoun County, Texas

Calhoun County has a rich history, with each era leaving its mark on our culture. During the mid-20th century, our county's entertainment scene flourished, with iconic venues like The Red Rose Club near Downtown Austin, the Seaside Theater, and the Bayshore Ballroom contribute to the entertainment heritage of Calhoun County.