Live Oak, Texas
Sheep rancher Baron Edward von Woehrmann, a native of Germany, settled the area around 1870. Nearby Liveoak Creek was described as a picturesque tributary of the West Nueces River. A Liveoak School was constructed in 1900 and enrolled ten students that year. Except for 1928-34, during which time Live Oak students were bused to Brackettville, the community operated its school until 1944; reasons for its seven-year discontinuance are obscure. The Liveoak School building and several dwellings are evident on maps of Kinney County in 1946. Nothing but two unnamed cemeteries is shown in the area on county maps of 1989. Source: Handbook of Texas Online.