Texas History, Genealogy, Old Photos, Postcards, Maps, and Information.
Javascript is required to view this map.

Calhoun County, Texas

Calhoun County is located on the Gulf Coast between Houston and Corpus Christi. Approximately one-fourth of the county's 540-sq. mi. area is under water. Calhoun County is bordered by Victoria and Jackson counties on the north, Matagorda Island  and the Gulf on the south, Refugio County on the west, and Matagorda County on the east.

Cities, Towns & Communities

Indianola | Long Mott | Matagorda Island | Port Comfort | Port Lavaca - county seat | Port O'Connor | Seadriff


Calhoun County has had two county seats and five courthouses.  The first county seat and courthouse was in Lavaca, 1846-1852.  The county seat was moved to Indianola in 1852, where the second courthouse was built in 1857 and destroyed by hurricane, along with most of Indianola in 1886.  The county seat was moved back to Lavaca (now renamed Port Lavaca), where a new courthouse was built in 1887.  Another courthouse was built in 1912, above, and later demolished in 1959, when the current courthouse, below, was opened.Calhoun County Courthouse 1959

Calhoun County Courthouse
Calhoun County Clerk's Office
211 S. Ann St
Port Lavaca, TX. 77979

Calhoun County Government Website


Calhoun County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.


Calhoun County TX Old Photos


Calhoun County TXGenWeb site

Calhoun County Genealogical Society

Calhoun County Museum
301 S. Ann Street
Port Lavaca, TX 77979  website

Calhoun County Public Library
200 West Mahan St.
Port Lavaca, TX 77979  website


Port Lavaca, TX 28° 36' 53.9892" N, 96° 37' 33.9204" W