Texas History, Genealogy, Old Photos, Postcards, Maps, and Information.
Javascript is required to view this map.

Slocum History 1936

"Slocum has a gin which, belonging to the oil mill, is operated by F. W. Averett. We also boast a Community cannery which has been erected on the school ground by the school. The Government furnished equipment. It gives employment to thirty or forty on relief. Mrs. N. E. Alsobrook is supervisor. Meat, vegetables, and fruit are canned."

Rev. J. S. McDaniel, who gave this interview is pastor of the Baptist Church of Slocum and has served the church three years. His church and the Community, generally, affectionately term him, "Brother Sam," which tells the story. He is every man's "brother," and in turn, is loved by all who know him.

He is a native of Arkansas, but has been a resident of Slocum since 1902. His wife was Nettie Gulley of Prescott, Arkansas. Two children born to them are Ruell McDaniel of San Antonio, Texas, magazine writer and publisher (married Carrol Iltis of Asheville, N. C.) and Sammie Lee (Mrs. W. R. Quarles—two children) of Houston.

A Centennial History of Anderson County, Texas, 1936 by Pauline Buck Hohes.

Slocum School.  A school of which any county in any state would be proud is the Slocum School.

In the first place, it has had a history to thrill the most disinterested. Entirely demolished in 1929 by the terrible cyclone which destroyed the town; with its surviving pupils terrorized by their harrowing experiences—in which fifty or more of their number were seriously injured, while one little playmate was killed outright—the marvel is that Slocum School had the courage to "come back." One would have expected her to be practically demoralized. At least another generation must arise, one would think, before the agony of the experience could be forgotten. But, as the phoenix came from its ashes a rejuvenated bird, so Slocum has arisen from her disaster a splendid school, with new vigor, increased determination, and a will to achieve that challenges the admiration of all Texas.

One secret of Slocum's amazing' recovery may be found in the personality of its superintendent, Mr. Thomas Gatlin. Through his indomitable spirit, his ambition for his pupils (that they must achieve in spite of every handicap) the school has imbibed new enthusiasm.

In 1907 Mr. Thomas Gatlin came to the school, remaining for three years. It was a two teacher school at that time and was located on the same spot the present school occupies.

In 1922 Mr. Gatlin returned to the school, and has remained continuously since, After the demolition of the school building, powerful friends came forward to offer help. Fired with the heroism of the superintendent, who had saved the lives of the children by ordering them to lie flat on the floor—with result that when roof, walls, and furniture were wrecked the floor with its living burden, remained untouched—these friends, Col. N. R. Strong, and Senator Julian P. Greer, went before the legislature with the thrilling tale. That such eloquent reports of the disaster produced a profound impression, the appropriation of $15,000, to rebuild the school, proved.

The new building is a substantial frame structure composed of eighteen rooms and a study hall. It was ready for occupancy by September 1930. Since its erection, one of the best gymnasiums in the county has been added, containing good stage and dressing rooms, also vocational shop and class room, separated from school building proper. When it is added that shower baths are installed, it will be seen how complete arrangements are.

Slocum has the distinction of being the first school in Anderson County to introduce Vocational Agriculture in its Curriculum.

A Centennial History of Anderson County, Texas, 1936 by Pauline Buck Hohes.

Location

31° 37' 52.644" N, 95° 27' 43.812" W